Home Page Elmbridge Primary School

EYFS Curriculum

During their first year at school, children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. This statutory curriculum is for children from birth to five years of age.


The EYFS curriculum is organised into Prime and Specific areas of learning.

The three Prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Strands from these areas of learning underpin and run through the Specific areas of learning, which are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


At Elmbridge Primary we seek to promote independence and encourage our pupils to initiate and explore creative, expressive and investigative activities, learning through a play based approached. We also value the importance of teaching fundamental skills in reading, writing, phonics and mathematics, and so these aspects are taught daily.